THE MAROON 5 CONCERT IN SINGAPORE 2008

Date: 25 March 2008
Venue: Singapore Indoor Stadium

“It’s not over tonight
Just give me one more chance to make it right
I may not make it through the night
I won’t go home without you”

OH MY GOD! I still can’t really believe I went for the Maroon 5 concert. My FIRST! AWESOME! FANTASTIC!

I’m so glad I decided to go for the concert and I’m so happy my sister was there with me! Though it lasted only like 70 minutes and started late, every minute was jam-packed with their hits from both of their albums. It’s like, Matt Flynn (drummer) just started hitting the drums and everyone was standing, screaming and shouting like their lives (and mine) depended on it. Adam Levine’s (lead singer) falsetto was really exhilarating. The sound system was really blasting my eardrums off and I could hear my shouts literally staggering… and I had this bloody bitch of a screamer beside me. As if my eardrums aren’t affected enough.

The 9,500-strong crowd was really high and everyone kinda rushed to the front when the songs started. From what I can see, the band threw all sorts of things to the $185-crowd; things like towels and drumsticks. According to Adam, it’s the last stop in Asia. For that, I’m really glad I’m in Singapore. =)

Songs they performed include: Harder To BreatheMakes Me Wonder; If I Never See Your Face AgainThe SunCan’t StopNothing Lasts ForeverShiverWake Up CallSunday Morning;Won’t Go Home Without YouThis LoveA Little Of Your Time and She Will Be Loved.

My favourite part was when Adam was introducing his band members and when he came toMatt, he got the non-stop-screaming crowd to quieten down and snap their fingers. His point? To emphasize how the drummer helps to keep the beat in their songs… an important and difficult task. Seeing their concert DVD, I really think Matt is like an almost-god cos 1) I think drummers are amazing to be able to coordinate their arms and legs to hit different parts of the drum kit; 2) he was hitting the cymbals and shaking some maracas-like instrument on the other hand? I can’t even draw those a circle and a square on each of my hand at the same time, for goodness’ sake.

Anyway, another favourite part was when they performed Won’t Go Home Without You. That was the song that started it all, for me, and towards the end, everyone was singing the chorus. I could just stay in that moment for a long long time. =) Truly blissful.

Seriously, I was a little unaware when the concert ended cos they just bowed and left? I’m like“Huh? Finish already?” so we made our way out slowly and later, my sister kinda said “Maroon 5’s there!” then I just ran like some groupie and I saw James Valentine (guitarist) like 3 metres away? I was probably that close to getting him to initial something on the ‘big hand’ but the security guards brought them away to the van. I half-chased, half-shot the van? But I really couldn’t take any good pictures cos EVERYONE was at the van? I’m either taking people’s cameras, white screens (camera flashes), black screens or just people touching the van. So in the end, I went to take the van plate number. Haha, I’m so auntie lah… going to buy 4D meh?

Plus, it was kinda hard to take individual shots of the members cos the cameramen kept focusing on Adam and Matt! If not, I was a little slow in shooting James or Jesse Carmichael (keyboardist), and Mickey Madden’s (bassist) pictures are really rare? Haha!

25th March 2008 is really a night to remember. I think a job at the SIS wouldn’t be too bad an idea. =D You earn something while watching a free concert. Oh, there are LOADS of videos on Youtube so if you really want to check it out, go check it out!

Well, gotta dash – I spent 3 hours on this blog entry ALONE. Nights!

(First published March 27, 2008 at 01:30AM @ mEnTaL bLoG)

Leave a Reply

