Wow, as most have heard, the Oscars were held yesterday and The Hurt Locker won big! 

The buildup to the Oscars were all about Avatar versus The Hurt Locker since they both have nine nominations each. At the end of the night, The Hurt Locker took home six of them, while director Kathryn Bigelow became the first female director to win Best Director! 

Brat Pack reunites at Oscars 2010

(L-R) Matthew Broderick, Macaulay Culkin, Ally Sheedy, Molly Ringwald, Judd Nelson, Jon Cryer and Anthony Michael Hall

 What I liked was the John Hughes tribute! Stars who’ve worked with him (including Molly Ringwald, Judd Nelson and Macaulay Culkin) were on stage. Almost the entire Breakfast Club gang was there – Emilio Estevez, where were you? 

*Check out the tribute on YOUTUBE

Best Actor – Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart
Best Actress – Sandra Bullock, The Blind Side
Best Supporting Actor – Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actress – Mo’Nique, Precious
Best Animated Feature – Pixar’s Up 

Best Art Direction
Best Cinematography – Mauro Fiore
Best Visual Effects 

The Hurt Locker wins big

(L-R) Mark Boal, Kathryn Bigelow and Greg Shapiro

Best Original Screenplay – Mark Boal
Best Film Editing
Best Sound Mixing
Best Sound Editing
Best Director – Kathryn Bigelow
Best Picture 

“Your role gloriously avoided political persuasion, which for me, was lovely cos it wasn’t left or right – it was just one man, it was beautiful.”
– Colin Farrell on Jeremy Renner’s Best Actor nomination for The Hurt Locker 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s