SUPERNATURAL S05E22

Castiel: It’s (Apocalypse) starting.
Dean: So what do we do now?
Castiel: I suggest we imbibe copious quantities of alcohol and just wait for the inevitable blast wave.

[SPOILER ALERT]

Oh dear. Supernatural has ended! Sure, there’s a Season 6 coming but it was so sad. Cried when Dean was getting punched by Lucifer/Sam and even though his face was all swollen, he was still trying to get to Sam inside and kept saying “Sam, I’m here, I’m not gonna leave you.”

Earlier on, Sam was making Dean promise him that he won’t try to bring him back.

Sam: If this thing goes our way and I Triple Lindy into that box. You know I’m not coming back.
Dean: Yeah, I’m aware.
Sam: See, you gotta promise me something.
Dean: Okay. Yeah, anything.
Sam: You gotta promise not to try to bring me back.
Dean: What!? No, I didn’t sign up for that! Your hell is gonna make my tour look like Graceland! You want me to sit by and do nothing?
Sam: Once this cage is shut, you can’t go poking at it, Dean. It’s too risky.
Dean: As if I’m just gonna let you rot in there.
Sam: Yeah, you are! You don’t have a choice.
Dean: You can’t ask me to do that.
Sam: I’m sorry, Dean, you have to.
Dean: So then what am I supposed to do?
Sam: You go find Lisa. You pray to God she’s dumb enough to take you in. You have barbecues and go to football games. You go live some normal, apple pie life, Dean. Promise me.

Then there was the narration by Chuck (who turned out to be God), describing the origins of the Impala and how it would be “the most important object in pretty much the whole universe”. Kind of an understatement since it awoke all the memories that Sam spent in the car, the most permanent fixture in his life with Dean, and made Sam jump into the Cage. And I love-hate it when they start the episode with Carry On Wayward Son because it brings out so much emotions.

Chuck (narration): Dean didn’t want Cas to save him. Every part of him, every fibre he’s got, wants to die or find a way to bring Sam back. But he isn’t gonna do either. Because he made a promise.

Nothing ever really ends, does it?

Leave a Reply

