THE BOY WHO HAD LILY’S EYES

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part II (2011)

The movie starts without warning and picks up from Part I where Voldemort takes the Elder Wand from Dumbledore’s grave. Harry, Ron and Hermione are still on their quest to locate and destroy the Horcruxes and they dive deeper into the Hallows (Resurrection Stone, Cloak of Invisibility and the Elder Wand) as well. The adventure starts from Gringotts and ends at Hogwarts.

Minerva McGonagall: I’ve always wanted to use that spell!

Well, I say you gotta brace yourself for this one because LOTS MORE PEOPLE ARE GOING TO DIE. That’s gonna be people whom Harry care about and who care about Harry; characters that fight till the end even though they know they have a slim chance of defeating the Dark Lord and his Deatheaters, characters that remain in the Order and Dumbledore’s Army even though officially, these groups no longer exist.

Severus Snape: Look… at… me…

Like all the other HP movies, there are certain parts that didn’t quite follow the book. For example, Neville became a HERO in the book (and in my heart, especially after Book 5, when I found out that the prophecy reveals that he had a shot at being the titular character and he’s such an underdog!) but his role was reduced somehow, but I’m so glad he did what he did at the end. You know, the thing with the Sword. Harry didn’t fix his you-know-what before snapping it. The Snape flashback scene was a little disappointing because an entire chapter was reduced to a two minute so-so presentation and they skipped Dumbledore’s past (I really wanted to see Jamie Campbell Bower as Grindelwald). Some of the pivotal scenes take place at different locations, for example, at the boathouse.

Harry Potter: You’ll stay with me? 
Sirius Black: Until the very end. 

 Source: holymotherofhnng

I watched this in 3D and I can’t really judge if the 3D is amazing but I can tell you it didn’t suck. Anyway, I started tearing up the moment Harry entered Hogwarts ground so I was generating my own kind of 3D. Not to mention, every time some act of loyalty, courage, love, friendship, Neville Longbottom or Maggie Smith appears, my own brand of 3D kicks into place. Surprisingly, there were quite many funny (Voldemort laughing), light-hearted moments in the movie – even by Maggie Smith! There’s the kiss between Ron and Hermione to look out for and also many spontaneous actions (mostly declarations of love) fueled by adrenaline and the ominous thought that they are all going to die.

Molly Weasley: Not my daughter, you bitch!

I felt really sad when it ended but yet, slightly triumphant and glad because everything was restored to its proper order and the epilogue, that gives us a glimpse 19 years after the big event that rocked the magical community, was weird to watch but ends it nicely.

After TEN YEARS of cinematic magic, it ends, but it will continue to live in my heart (and my DVD collection).

4 out of 5 stars
(In my heart, body and soul: it’s a 5) 

EVERYONE GO WATCH THE LATEST AND FINAL HARRY POTTER MOVIE NOW!

Leave a Reply

