KEANE STRANGELAND TOUR – SINGAPORE 2012

Date: 30 September 2012
Venue: Max Pavilion, Singapore Expo

Keane was back in Singapore last night!

“Let’s go down to the rides on East Parade
By the lights of the Palace Arcade
And watch night coming down on the Sovereign Light Café

Let’s go down to the bandstand on the pier
Watch the drunks and the lovers appear
To take turns as the stars of the Sovereign Light Café”

I was really looking forward to the concert because their concert back in 2009 was one of the best live concerts I have ever experienced. Hopes and Fears is one of my favourite albums and Under The Iron Sea was a really strong influence during a low part of my life.

Imagine my disappointment 1) when I didn’t see any tour merchandise on sale and 2) when I saw the super large hall and my Category 2 seats half a hall away from the stage. I could have cried if I wanted to. “Thanks” to the organizer – Trilogy Live. I think I don’t just speak for myself when I say the entire Category 2 seaters were disappointed. If I had bought Category 3 (which means I can only see Tom Chaplin like you can see a bird flying up in the sky), I might just kill myself. It is that bad. I saw lots of people asking the ushers going back out to check for extra tickets to the standing pen.

When the concert started, of course people started running to the barricade to get a better view of the band. You don’t even sit so far when watching TV. But those ushers got security to chase them away and I guess if all of us wanted to storm through, we could. What the hell! The standing pen wasn’t even half-filled. My photos and videos were really shitty because the maximum zoom couldn’t do much. I mean, next time, even if I have to eat gruel for a month, I will buy Category 1 tickets!

Tom Chaplin: I’m sorry we have to perform in this giant shed!

Enough of my grumbles and back to the concert!

Tom Chaplin sounds amazing! I don’t know how many times I have said this but his voice really sounds amazing! Even all the way from the back! I just wish I could see Tim Rice-Oxley fingers on the keyboard.

I love that they went “Classic Keane” on their latest album, Strangeland. I really love the part where Tom Chaplin sings shalalala~on “Sovereign Light Cafe” – did I mention how amazing his voice sounds? – and tracks like “On The Road” and “The Starting Line”. No Keane concert would be complete without “Somewhere Only We Know” and “Everybody’s Changing”. Though I could hear the crowd singing during SOWK, it wasn’t as magical as the Fort Canning Park experience. Sorry, but nothing tops that – though The Script’s The Man Who Can’t Be Moved is a close second.

SETLIST:
You Are Young
Bend and Break
Day Will Come
Nothing In My Way
Spiralling
We Might As Well Be Strangers
The Lovers Are Losing
Silenced By The Night
Everybody’s Changing
Stop For A Minute
The Starting Line
Your Eyes Open
Atlantic
Strangeland – snippet
On The Road
A Bad Dream
Disconnected
This Is The Last Time
Somewhere Only We Know
Is It Any Wonder?
Bedshaped
Sea Fog – encore
Sovereign Light Cafe – encore
Crystal Ball – encore 

Leave a Reply

